Balfour & Houldsworth

2019 Balfour Cup Winner

Keith Dingley

Full Results

The Balfour Cup 2019


The Balfour Cup is in its 122nd year and 132 golfers representing 37 golf clubs entered the competition at Worsley Golf Club on Sunday 19th May.  

Keith Dingley (14) from Stand Golf Club posted the winning score of gross 79 , nett 65. This was followed by a Card Playoff (CPO) for second place with John Brookwell of Douglas Valley GC, who scored a gross 78, nett 66, and John McAtee of Swinton Park Golf Club with a gross 74, nett 66.

Norman Haslam of Stand Golf Club took the fourth prize with a gross 78, nett 67 and Jim O'Reilly of Swinton Park GC came in fifth with a Gross 81, nett 68.

The best gross score of 71 came from Tony Collinson from Disley Golf club playing off scratch.

Worsley member Andrew Bentley had been at the top of the Leader Board for some time with his nett 68. but alas this score was overtaken by 5 lower scores as the afternoon progressed.

Just by chance the last Worsley winner of the Balfour Cup had called into the club for some lunch. Phillip Biggs, now at the age of 88 is a Social Member at Worsley. He won the Balfour Cup 48 years ago, when it was played at Swinton Park Golf Club in 1971. He kindly agreed to join the Worsley Captain and President for a photo with B&H Trophies.

Keith Dingley is the current President of the Balfour and Houldsworth Competitions Committee. He is the third member of the present Committee to win the Balfour Cup in recent years. The cup was won by the current treasurer Steve Misell of Disley Golf Club in 2011 and by Peter McManus of Chorlton-cum-Hardy Golf Club in 2015. 

Members and staff of Worsley Golf Club were very helpful to our Committee and  the food, hospitality and facilities were all excellent.

The committee would like to thank Worsley GC for their help in making the Balfour Cup once again a great success.  

All the results can be seen on our website, click on the link on the front page, or click here for the results

 The 2020 Balfour Cup will be played at Disley Golf Club on 10th May 2020 - click here for online entry .




The last worsley winner



 Keith Dingley  with

Worsley President

Steve Blackman

                               and                                       Worsley Captain Neil Austin






Created by intelligentgolf version 10.1.2.